Romantic Valentino SS14 Collection

Hey guys! Today’s post is going to be centred around the recently launched Valentino SS14 collection, which I think just might be one of my favourite ever collections to date. First of all, Valentino SS14 not only encases an array of trends, but the collection as a whole exhibits clear romantic, ethnic and exotic themes, intertwined through each individual look. For today’s post I have chosen a small selection of my favourite looks out of the 73 overall, in the collection.

The first image shown below, features 3 looks involving shirts in which Valentino used two main key colours, which were white and baby blue. I’m loving the 2 short-sleeved shirts shown, as the sheer panelling adds a romantic and feminine touch and additionally, both are paired with gorgeous patterned palazzo style trousers, which are right up my street! The central image features a pussy bow style shirt which works very well paired with burgundy suede over-sized jacket and shorts. For me the suede fabric and tasselled seams used in this look are very cowboy-esque.

The second trio of looks, I have chosen are short dresses, all in which have elegant high necklines. The first on the left is one of my favourite looks within Valentino’s collection and I adore the soft caramel and aubergine colours. For this dress an ethnic geometric pattern has been printed onto a luxurious silky material and the wide sleeves and structured silhouette of the dress, furthermore offset the overall look.  The second dress shown has a triangular pattern with a bold colour palette including coral and hot pink. This dress again has wide sleeves and also a dramatic high low hemline. The final look, of this trio is another stunner, this dress is comprised of black mesh with vibrant turquoise, gold and berry coloured appliqué and embellishment, paired with a tasselled handbag and black sandals- this look turns heads.

My final selection of looks, displays 4 exquisite maxi length gowns. The first on the left is intricately embroidered with many bright coloured ethnic designs and I can’t even imagine how many hours went into creating such a master piece. The second gown is modelled by the one and only Cara Delevingne (if you haven’t heard of her, you must have been living in a hole for the last year) and she strutted her stuff down the catwalk, in this panelled lace dress with sheer mesh arms, which has a slightly grunge/gothic vibe. The third gown is also very striking and I love the combination of the yellow and blue in this strong tribal print. Finally, I chose this last gown because I love the exotic warm orange and pink colours used and the scalloped neckline is also lovely.

In addition, I thought the hair in Valentino’s collection was beautiful, especially the feminine crown braids. The models also wore stunning brushed gold pendant necklaces, wound twice around the neck, which were the highlight of the collection for me.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this blog post and love Valentino’s collection as much I do- I’d love to hear your thoughts on it- Hope you like- Enjoy!

Images taken from Dazed Digital

Capture 1

Capture 2

Capture 3

Leave a Reply

